Jimmy Eat World

Jimmy Eat World [EP]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The second release by the Tempe, AZ, quartet Jimmy Eat World is a five-song, self-titled EP issued through the small independent label Fueled by Raman. A pair of songs from the EP later appeared on their 1999 studio release for Capitol, Clarity, while three of the tracks appear here exclusively. The band -- Jim Adkins (guitar/vocals), Rick Burch (bass), Zach Lind (drums), and Tom Linton (guitar/vocals) -- has often been classified as emocore, often compared to Seattle's Sunny Day Real Estate. And with the melancholic tunefulness that permeates the EP, it is a fair assessment. The somewhat upbeat opener, "Lucky Denver Mint," combines a drum loop with live drums, while "For Me This Is Heaven," "Your New Aesthetic (Demo)," and the epic six-minute closer, "Roller Queen," are more reflective of the overcast sounds Jimmy Eat World are known primarily for. This self-titled EP will serve as much-welcomed new material for starved fans of Jimmy Eat World.

blue highlight denotes track pick