Various Artists

Jazzvox Presents: In Your Own Backyard

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

JazzVox is a house concert series that inspired producer Nich Anderson to feature some of his favorite vocalists in duo settings in the studio. Some of them have had greater national exposure than others, but each singer excels in his or her performances. Stephanie Nakasian is a veteran who has been on the jazz scene for a long time, a rich alto who delivers a magical "All My Tomorrows" accompanied by pianist Patti Wicks and a playful "Perdido" with pianist Bill Anschell. Vocalist/pianist John Proulx offers a delightful take of Frank Rosolino's neglected bop gem "Please Don't Bug Me" and his warm original ballad "Welcome to My World," both featuring bassist Chuck Kistler. Vocalist/bassist Kristin Korb delivers a hip rendition of the oft-recorded "Comes Love" and a Latin-flavored "You're Getting to Be a Habit with Me" with pianist Randy Halberstadt. Kathleen Grace chose two decades-old gems: "Moon River" and "If Ever I Would Leave You," joined by pianist Darin Clendenin, adding something fresh to each piece with emotional renditions. Jo Lawry brings out the whimsical nature of "Honeysuckle Rose" with Bill Anschell's playful accompaniment. Cathy Segal-Garcia's sassy "The Cat" features the veteran alto with guitarist John Stowell, while Nich Anderson's upbeat treatment of the venerable standard "Time After Time" has some delightful soloing by Patti Wicks as well. Hanna Richardson's reflective setting of "These Foolish Things" (with Patti Wicks) and Kelley Johnson's buoyant duet of "Triste" with guitarist Keith Ganz round out this enjoyable vocal compilation.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:41 Amazon
2 05:01 Amazon
3 03:13 Amazon
4 04:14 Amazon
5 05:20 Amazon
6 03:16 Amazon
7 05:38 Amazon
8 05:00 Amazon
9 05:06 Amazon
10 04:51 Amazon
11 05:15 Amazon
12 03:48 Amazon
13 02:50 Amazon
14 03:45 Amazon
15 03:15 Amazon
16 03:57 Amazon
17 03:32 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick