George Benson

Jazz on a Sunday Afternoon, Vol. I

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although probably released only semi-legally (since guitarist George Benson was signed to CTI at the time), this first of two LPs finds him really stretching out and sounding his best. Joined by pianist Mickey Tucker, bassist George Duvivier, and drummer Al Harewood on four straight-ahead standards, the guitarist takes long solos on "Love for Sale," "There Will Never Be Another You," and "All Blues" (all of which are over ten-and-a-half minutes long) and takes a pleasing vocal on "The Masquerade Is Over." Worth searching for.