Eddie Condon

Jam Sessions (1944)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A pair of sessions cut as radio transcriptions during 1944 are released in full on this two-LP set. Unfortunately the programming does not always make sense with alternate takes and false starts often separated from the "real" versions but in general the performances are quite enjoyable, as one would expect from the two all-star groups. The players perform up-to-par and the lineup tells the story: trumpeters Max Kaminsky, Billy Butterfield and Bobby Hackett, trombonists Jack Teagarden and Wilbur DeParis, clarinetist Pee Wee Russell, baritonist Ernie Caceres, pianists Joe Bushkin and Gene Schroeder, bassists Bob Casey and Bob Haggart, drummer George Wettling and vocalists Red McKenzie, Lee Wiley and Teagarden.