Jake Hanna

Jake Takes Manhattan

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Drummer Jake Hanna's third and final set as a leader for Concord is a worthwhile, if not overly memorable, quintet set also featuring trumpeter Danny Stiles, Carmen Leggio on alto and tenor, pianist John Bunch and bassist Michael Moore. The nine swing standards include a typically heated "Northwest Passage," "Lester Leaps In," "Sultry Serenade" and "Them There Eyes." Overall, the music swings quietly and is relaxed even when played at faster tempos.