Various Artists

It's Still Workin': Tommy Boy's Classic Cuts

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For a compilation that doesn't seem all that necessary to exist -- given the widespread use of the majority of these songs on numerous other compilations -- it's plain to see that a good deal of effort was put into producing It's Still Workin': Tommy Boy's Classic Cuts. Unlike most other Tommy Boy anthologies, this one spans the label's entire existence as a significant force in hip-hop, beginning with Afrika Bambaataa & the Soulsonic Force's "Planet Rock" and concluding with Noreaga's "Superthug." The possibility of assembling a definitive one-disc label overview had to be out of the question, since the picks from just about all the other groups could be easily debated. The only miscue here is the presence of the House of Pain's "Jump Around" immediately after the Force M.D.'s' "Tender Love." The latter should never immediately precede the former. (It could also be argued that the former should never precede or follow anything.)

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:19
2 4:30
3 4:38
4 3:44
5 3:55
6 4:05
7 4:24
8 4:30
9 7:17
10 3:56
11 3:35
12 4:33
14 3:58
15 3:56
16 5:00
blue highlight denotes track pick