Barbara Kortmann

Inner Lights

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Barbara Kortmann's debut CD on Genuin is a delightful collection of music by Antonio Vivaldi, Marin Marais, George Frederick Handel, Johann Sebastian Bach, and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. While several of these popular Baroque pieces are usually performed on recorder, Kortmann's tasteful playing is couched in historically informed practices, and the intimate accompaniment of harpsichordist Sabine Erdmann, violinists Helen Weiss and Kerstin Linder-Dewan, violist Nikolaus Schlierf, cellists Julia Kursawe and Inka Döring, and bassist Benjamin Wand is warm and appealing, while also approximating authentic Baroque performance practices. The opening Concerto in D major, "Il Cardellino" by Vivaldi is a fine place to start sampling, because the openness of the textures and the apparent simplicity of the music give Kortmann plenty of room to display her improvisational skills and virtuosity. Kortmann's own arrangements of the Handel arias "Meine Seele hört in Sehen" and "Süße Stille, sanfte Quelle" are charming additions to the flute catalog, and her intriguing version of Marin Marais' Les Folies d'Espagne frees the music from the weighty sonorities of the viola da gamba and gives it a welcome lightness of tone. Highly recommended for flute students and fans of Baroque chamber music.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Concerto in D major, Op. 10, No. 3 "Il Cardellino" for Flute, String Orchestra and Basso continuo
1 3:57
2 3:14
3 2:51
4 7:18
5 5:57
Concerto in G minor, Op. 10, No. 2 "La Notte" for Flute, String Orchestra and Basso Continuo
6 2:00
7 0:49
8 1:19
9 1:01
10 1:43
11 2:11
The Musical Offering, BWV 1079, Trio Sonata in C minor for Flute, Violin and Basso continuo
12 5:53
13 5:54
14 2:42
15 3:06
Sonata in G minor for Flute and Harpsichord, BWV 1020
16 4:19
17 3:12
18 2:40
19 6:18
blue highlight denotes track pick