Various Artists

Indie Top 20, Vol. 9

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Beechwood's Melody Maker-sponsored Indie Top 20 series acts as a fairly adequate time capsule of U.K. indie music. Initiated in 1987 and put to rest in 1996, the 23 volumes act as a more-discerning English equivalent of the monthly Certain Damage samplers that came with CMJ (College Music Journal) in the U.S. And since the U.K. definition of "indie" has a wider scope, this series has much more stylistic variety. The ninth volume of the series, released in 1990, includes the Sundays' "Joy," the Wolfhounds' "Rite of Passage," Carter USM's "Sheriff Fatman," the Heart Throbs' "Dreamtime," A.C. Marias' "One of Our Girls Has Gone Missing," and Lush's "Deluxe." You can see here how dream pop and shoegaze were beginning to make an increasing impact on U.K. music.

blue highlight denotes track pick