Various Artists

Indie Top 20, Vol. 7

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Beechwood's Melody Maker-sponsored Indie Top 20 series acts as a fairly adequate time capsule of U.K. indie music. Initiated in 1987 and put to rest in 1996, the 23 volumes act as a more-discerning English equivalent of the monthly Certain Damage samplers that came with CMJ (College Music Journal) in the U.S. And since the U.K. definition of "indie" has a wider scope, this series has much more stylistic variety. The seventh volume, released in 1989, includes Dinosaur Jr.'s "Freak Scene," Pixies' "Monkey Gone to Heaven," Ultra Vivid Scene's "Mercy Seat," Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds' "Deanna," Wire's "Eardrum Buzz," Throwing Muses' "Dizzy," and the Stone Roses' "Made of Stone." Not bad at all, despite the lack of dance music.

blue highlight denotes track pick