Various Artists

Indie Top 20, Vol. 4

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Beechwood's Melody Maker-sponsored Indie Top 20 series acts as a fairly adequate time capsule of U.K. indie music. Initiated in 1987 and put to rest in 1996, the 23 volumes act as a more-discerning English equivalent of the monthly Certain Damage samplers that came with CMJ (College Music Journal) in the U.S. And since the U.K. definition of "indie" has a wider scope, this series has much more stylistic variety. The fourth volume, released in May of 1988, rightly places a heavy emphasis on dance music. Smith & Mighty's "Dark Dark House," Groove's "Submit to the Beat," Twin Beat's "Let's Pick Up the Pieces," and S'Express' "S'Express" are included, along with guitar pop from the Smiths ("William, It Was Really Nothing"), the Wedding Present ("Nobody's Twisting Your Arm"), the Primitives ("Stop Killing Me"), and Wire ("Kidney Bingos").