Various Artists

Indie Top 20, Vol. 21

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Beechwood's Melody Maker-sponsored Indie Top 20 series acts as a fairly adequate time capsule of U.K. indie music. Initiated in 1987 and put to rest in 1996, the 23 volumes act as a more-discerning English equivalent of the monthly Certain Damage samplers that came with CMJ (College Music Journal) in the U.S. And since the U.K. definition of "indie" has a wider scope, this series has much more stylistic variety. The 21st volume of the series, released in 1995, includes Supergrass' "Caught by the Fuzz," Cracker's "Low," Radiohead's "My Iron Lung," Spiritualized's "Let It Flow," Oasis' "Live Forever," and Ride's "I Don't Know Where It Comes From." This is the point at which Britpop -- Supergrass excepted -- first threatened to flat line.