In the Name of Progress

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For its Columbia debut, In the Name of Progress, Fingertight -- vocalist Scott Rose, guitarist Sergio Renoso, bassist Jesse Del Rio, and drummer Kirk Shelton -- worked with producers Tobias Miller and Bill Appleberry, who had previously helmed Adema's debut. But while that group blindly follows in the nu-metal footsteps of Korn, Fingertight's take on the post-grunge sound is more confused. On one hand, the band channels Tool ("Speak in Tongues") and does a fair amount of head-banging on the seething "Surface." But it then shifts gears with the plaintive strumming and piano of "Things Have Changed," and even employs gooey "ooh ooh" backing vocals during another mellow moment. It's unclear how Fingertight will sell this balladeering to the alt-metal audience Columbia seems to have groomed it for. After all, the band supported Progress' debut with a slot on the Jagermeister Music Tour alongside muscular acts like Saliva and Stereomud. While fellow Californians Incubus effectively produce trippy, non genre-specific suburban alt-rock, Fingertight can't decide if it wants that vibe or wants to be part of Korn et al.'s vinyl pants and tattooed fingers crowd, and this indecision becomes In the Name of Progress' biggest fault.

blue highlight denotes track pick