June Christy


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

After a long series of recordings for Capitol during 1952-65, June Christy gradually retired from singing. She only returned to the studios once, for this Discovery LP. Assisted by the Lou Levy sextet (which consisted of the leader-pianist, trumpeter Jack Sheldon, trombonist Frank Rosolino, tenorman Bob Cooper, bassist Bob Daugherty and drummer Shelly Manne), Christy avoided revisiting her hits and instead mixed in some newer material (such as "Once Upon a Summertime," "Everything Must Change" and "Sometime Ago") with a few older standards. A little rusty during this final effort, June Christy's sincerity and swing will win over listeners.

blue highlight denotes track pick