Paul Williams & the Victory Trio

I'll Be No Stranger There

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Paul Williams & the Victory Trio have chalked up a number of impressive albums for Rebel over the last several years. If one comes to I'll Be No Stranger There expecting Williams and company to have altered their approach in the name of progress, they're more than likely to be disappointed. If, on the other hand, one expects the same rock-solid gospel harmony, well-wrought musicianship, and unshakable Christian values, the album will represent another fine accomplishment. Mandolinist Williams, guitarist Jeff Orr, banjoist Jerry Keys, fiddler Keith Williams, bassist Susie Keys, and guitarist Ned Cutshaw stick to the straight and narrow on all of these songs, from the title track that opens the album to "Light at the River" that closes it. Each song, highlighted by three-part harmony, tells the story of repentance ("The Journey"), hope ("There's Always a Light (In the Church)"), and the next life ("I'll Be No Stranger There"). The group even takes time out to combine religion and patriotism on "That's What Hero's Do." The only complaint one might have against I'll Be No Stranger There is that Williams & the Victory Trio equals four people, when six actually play on many cuts. Mathematics, however, has little to do with the actual quality of the music.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:04 Amazon
2:42 Amazon
3:08 Amazon
4 3:16 Amazon
5 2:31 Amazon
6 2:25 Amazon
7 3:15 Amazon
8 3:34 Amazon
9 3:03 Amazon
10 2:19 Amazon
11 2:26 Amazon
3:23 Amazon
13 3:22 Amazon
14 2:27 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick