• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Universal's 2013 compilation Icon is an excellent roundup of Everclear's 11 biggest '90s hits. Almost all of the band's charting Billboard hits are here -- missing are "Heroin Girl," "Out of My Depth," and "The Boys Are Back in Town," which likely won't be missed by most listeners, as this steadily rolls through "Santa Monica," "Heartspark Dollarsign," "I Will Buy You a New Life," "Father of Mine," "Wonderful," "When It All Goes Wrong Again," and "AM Radio." The sequencing is not chronological but that only winds up stressing the consistency of Art Alexakis' songwriting, and even if this is roughly half the length of 2004's definitive compilation Ten Years Gone, there may be many listeners who prefer this tighter collection, as it contains the hits and nothing but.

blue highlight denotes track pick