Various Artists

Ibiza Residence 2010

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Compiled by dance label Mas Volumen, Ibiza Residence 2010 is a value-for-the-money three-disc compilation, featuring 18 of the year's biggest White Island floor-fillers, an 11-track remix CD, and a bonus DVD including ten promo videos from some of the biggest club artists in the world. The ubiquitous David Guetta kicks off proceedings with the hypnotic, synth-pounding, Fergie-featuring "Gettin' Over You," and while Yolanda Be Cool & DCup's novelty chart-topper "We No Speak Americano" and the anthemic trance of Swedish House Mafia's "One" are also massive crossover hits, the majority of the collection will only be familiar to seasoned clubbers. Alongside lesser-known material from superclub DJs ATB ("Could You Believe"), Fedde Le Grand ("New Life") and Deadmau5 ("Strobe"), there are underground anthems from less-established names such as Jose "Spinnin" Cortes ("Rain"), Starkillers ("Cantina"), and M.Y.N.C. ("Boogers"), while the artist responsible for one of the most iconic Ibiza songs of all time (Spiller's "Groovejet"), Sophie Ellis-Bextor, returns to her club roots on collaborations with Armin Van Buuren ("Not Giving Up on Love") and Junior Caldera ("Can't Fight This Feeling"). But the highlights appear courtesy of three tracks based on samples of classic late-'80s singles, Roger Sanchez's "2gether" (also featuring Far East Movement and Girls Aloud's Sarah Harding), which borrows the chorus from the B-52's "Love Shack," the Bingo Players' electro-house reworking of Suzanne Vega's "Tom's Diner," and Meck's "Feels Like a Prayer," which cleverly mashes up his own "Feels Like Home" with Madonna's "Like a Prayer." Dash Berlin's 4 a.m. remix of "Janeiro" and Sander Van Doorn's original version of "Reach Out" are the standouts from the second disc, but ultimately, it's the first disc of potential future dancefloor classics that makes this sun-soaked compilation the perfect soundtrack to any night out.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:08
2 2:14
3 2:42
4 3:36
5 2:38
6 4:21
7 2:54
8 3:52
9 3:15
10 3:34
13 3:36
14 3:35
15 4:10
16 3:13
17 4:15
18 2:37
blue highlight denotes track pick