Various Artists

Ibiza Residence '09

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Surely one of the worst Ibiza-themed compilations of the year, Ibiza Residence '09 is a two-CD/DVD package of contemporary electronic dance hits whose contents are as generic as its title. To be fair, there are some first-rate tracks showcased here on the third volume in this annual series of compilations. Targeted at the Mexican market, Ibiza Residence '09 rounds up a bunch of contemporary electronic dance hits by the likes of David Guetta ("When Love Takes Over"), Fedde le Grand ("Scared of Me"), Armin Van Buuren ("Fine Without You"), and Paul Oakenfold ("Mesmerized"). There are also mainstream dance-pop inclusions like the Crookers remix of Kid Cudi's "Day 'n' Nite" and the Dave Aude remix of Lady Gaga's "Poker Face." However, the relation of these tracks to Ibiza is negligible, and they aren't mixed together but rather are included in their full-length versions with gaps of silence between each. This is odd. Compilations like this are generally mixed DJ style as one might experience in a club. For whatever reason, the tracks here aren't mixed together and often run for extended periods of time, clocking in somewhere between four and ten minutes each. This makes for a disjointed listening experience, and it also makes for limited space on each disc. So while Ibiza Residence '09 boasts a lot of media -- two CDs and a DVD -- there actually isn't much substance on each disc. To be exact, each CD includes a mere ten tracks, and the DVD is only a tad longer, including videos for 12 tracks, most of which are repeated from the two CDs. Innumerable Ibiza-themed compilations are released each year by Ministry of Sound and other electronic dance-oriented labels. They're a dime a dozen and often less than great, yet even relative to all these other Ibiza compilations, Ibiza Residence '09 is terribly opportunistic.

blue highlight denotes track pick