Lesley Garrett

I Will Wait for You

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Lesley Garrett is the ultimate crossover artist. Unlike most recordings by classically trained singers, she mixes both popular and classical pieces on the same disc. Her voice is a lovely soprano which, although limited in its range of expression, allows her to entertain and to bring a wide variety of music to the listener. The real opera buff will not be happy with her Ponchielli and Rossini selections as she does not pursue the depth of passion in the former or the virtuosity of the latter; the popular music buff will find her Night and Day and The September Song a bit bland. However, she is right on the mark with Gershwin's By Strauss and the Strauss's I'm in love with Vienna although the arrangements are rather grandiose. The cabaret song "La vie en rose" is given in a full-blown symphonic arrangement which, however unfaithful to the original, is great fun on its own terms. She is joined by Ramon Vargas for a fine version of "Parigi o Cara" from La Traviata. Richard Rodger's You'll never walk alone with the Grimethorpe Colliery RJB Band is very impressive as she really lets her voice ring out. She appears to have great fun closing the disc with Amazing grace, joined by Ladysmith Black Mambazo. This is a very enjoyable disc for the casual listener and should bring many hours of pleasure.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:35
La bohème, opera
2 02:58
3 03:22
4 03:38
5 02:52
La Traviata, opera
6 04:06
Alcina, opera, HWV 34
7 04:24
8 03:25
9 04:24 SpotifyAmazon
Semiramide, opera
10 05:46
11 04:18 Spotify
La Gioconda, opera in 4 acts
12 03:56
13 06:03
14 04:23
Norma, opera
15 05:14
16 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
17 04:12
blue highlight denotes track pick