• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Originally issued in 1995 as a series of six monthly EPs, the resulting two-disc compilation Hz is Main's masterpiece, an exploration of pure cosmic sound so deep and so vast that it seems to echo into infinity. Even in comparison to the soundscapes of the Firmament series, the noises and textures of Hz's six suites are stunningly evocative. Dedicating "Corona" to David Lynch's longtime sound editor Alan Splet and "Kaon" to Sun Ra sideman John Gilmore, Main conjures the otherworldly spirits of both, assembling bleakly hypnotic, unsettlingly vivid documents of what the liner notes ominously dub "stellar evolution." It's music which seems to exist in a void, and its buzzing, rumbling, and droning textures capture and twist the imagination in ways conventional music never could.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 9:49
2 10:00
3 3:58

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 6:45
2 6:48
3 7:21
blue highlight denotes track pick