Various Artists

House Proud, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first disc of Distance's inaugural volume of House Proud compiles a number of the label's past moments, provided free of mixing. Alton Miller's "Sweet in the Morning," Danny Rampling's "Community of the Spirit," Kevin Yost's "If She Only Knew," and Larry Heard's "And So I Dance" are featured. For the second disc of the set, Harry "Choo Choo" Romero and Jose Nunez (known collectively as the Constipated Monkeys) take over and provide a mix that includes a number of the tracks heard on the first disc, though some of those appear in different versions (Todd Edwards' remix of the Kevin Yost track appears instead of the original, for instance). Distance fans will find this to be a worthy portable companion.

blue highlight denotes track pick