Snooky Young

Horn of Plenty

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

One of only three recording sessions led by talented trumpeter Snooky Young and his only one as the lone horn, this Concord set (which includes pianist Ross Tompkins, guitarist John Collins, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Jake Hanna) features Snooky on four standards, an original blues, and three compositions by saxophonist Tom Peterson. The music is essentially modern mainstream, allowing the leader to show off his wide range and swinging style.