Various Artists

Hey Love, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Hey Love, Vol. 1 Review

by Lindsay Planer

The two-volume "sounds of sexy soul" compilation Hey Love dates back to the late '70s, when the package was first unleashed as a late-night television mail order offer on vinyl, eight track, and cassette. The memorable advert concluded with the exchange "Man, can I borrow that...?" "No my brother, you've got to get your's how!" Some two decades later, Time-Life has reissued the classic 40-song anthology onto a pair of CDs, boasting significantly improved sound quality and the exact same interminable set list. While the contents are not sequenced in regards to any specific methodology, the material spans an eight-year era (1967 through 1973) that witnessed a revolution in soul music rivalling that concurrently occurring in pop/rock. Hey Love, Vol. 1 (2001) contains 20 tracks, all of which peaked at various positions within the Top 20 on the R&B singles chart. Even the most cursory of glances at the song list reveals both well-known crossover smashes such as "Have You Seen Her" by the Chi-Lites, "Going in Circles" from the Friends of Distinction, or the plaintive wail of Eddie Holman's "Hey There Lonely Girl." Conversely, the disc is likewise full of equally brilliant, albeit lesser-known sides. Among the highlights are Brenda & the Tabulations' dark and sensual "The Touch of You," Frankie & the Spindles' cover of Derek Martin's "Count to Ten," or the unusual sound effects that help dramatize the Unifics' "Court of Love." Both instalments in this series are perfect for all dimensions of soul music lovers. Hardcore enthusiasts will revel in the availability of the more difficult-to-locate (especially on compact disc) platters, while the mainstream consumer can find an ample sampling of hits to bulk up their respective collections. Hey Love can also be considered a superior primer and springboard for the burgeoning listener interested in delving deeper into the late-'60s and early-'70s seminal soul scene.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Gene Chandler 02:42 Amazon
2 Peaches & Herb 02:38 Amazon
3 Barbara Mason 03:07 Amazon
4 Brenda & the Tabulations 02:58 Amazon
5 The Intruders 02:57 Amazon
6 The Dells 06:09 Amazon
7 The Delfonics 03:18 Amazon
8 Linda Jones 02:39 Amazon
9 The Friends of Distinction 04:16 Amazon
10 Peaches & Herb 02:36 Amazon
11 The Unifics 02:51 Amazon
12 Barbara Mason 02:45 Amazon
13 Brenda & the Tabulations 02:37 Amazon
14 Franky & The Spindles 03:17 Amazon
15 The Delfonics 02:55 Amazon
16 The Dells 03:04 Amazon
17 The Emotions 02:51 Amazon
18 Eddie Holman 03:35 Amazon
19 The Originals 03:16 Amazon
20 The Chi-Lites 05:07 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick