Dionne Warwick

Here I Am/Here Where There is Love

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Dionne Warwick's Scepter Records catalog from the '60s stands as some of the vocalist's finest and most prolific work. In conjunction with the songwriting team of Burt Bacharach and Hal David, Warwick became the ideal outlet for their brilliantly constructed noir-tinged love songs. The U.K.-based Sequel Records label has paired several of these seminal pop recordings in a series of two-fer reissues, the third of which collects her fifth long-player, Here I Am (1966), with the follow-up, Here Where There Is Love (1967). When Here I Am was first issued, Warwick had already provided four separate studio discs as well as a soundtrack (What's New Pussycat?) and a live album (Dionne Warwick in Paris) in 36 months. The studio albums were typically chock-full of hits -- both pop and R&B -- and the combination of Here I Am/Here Where There Is Love was near the zenith of the list. While it would be inaccurate to say that Warwick's success would go downhill from this point, there is no denying that circa 1966-1967 she was at the top of her game -- as were Bacharach and David. Among the most notable contributions to Here I Am include "Are You There (With Another Girl)," "Window Wishing," "Don't Go Breaking My Heart," "Long Day, Short Night," and the title track. All became hits as well as staples of her performance repertoire. Here Where There Is Love continued that trend with another series of charting singles and Warwick's first Top 20 charting album. Among the most enduring cuts featured on the album are the soundtrack hit "Alfie," "What the World Needs Now," "I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself," "Trains and Boats and Planes," and an oddly upbeat -- even jolly -- cover of Bob Dylan's "Blowin' in the Wind."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:49
2 2:52
3 3:15
4 2:49
6 2:12
7 2:22
8 2:24
9 2:22
10 2:52
11 2:37
12 1:44
13 2:47
14 3:09
15 2:47
16 2:32
17 2:48
18 2:47
19 2:52
20 2:50
22 2:13
blue highlight denotes track pick