Various Artists

Hello, We Are the Militia Group, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Johnny Loftus

This budget sampler from Anaheim's Militia Group features work from the imprint's stable of earnest, emo-inflected and punk-ish combos. Kicking off strong with the Big Collapse and "Pull Out the Guts," the set runs into some whiny heartfeltness from the Beautiful Mistake and Anadivine before getting to the refreshing racket of Blueprint Car Crash's previously-unreleased demo "What Smiles Behind Her Running Mascara." For that matter, the Beautiful Mistake's "Fragile Fingers" appears acoustically, with the band also contributing a demo of "A Safe Place." Hello also boasts unreleased or otherwise rare material from the exceedingly weepy Copeland, Rufio (an acoustic "In My Eyes,") and Brandston (a precise, oddly sterile cover of the Police hit "King of Pain"). Other highlights include the quiet indie folk of Denison Witmer's "24 Turned 25," and Minneapolis' post-hardcore agit-pop'ers Tora! Tora! Torrance!, who turn in "Another Drink to Yr Health." Overall Hello, We Are the Militia Group is a satisfactory introduction to the label, while offering the clued-in a decent cross-section of exclusive stuff.

blue highlight denotes track pick