Original Television Soundtrack

Hawaii Five-O [Original Songs from the Television Series]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Hawaii Five-O: Original Songs from the Television Series opens appropriately with the police procedural drama’s iconic theme song, which was composed by Morton Stevens and given a beefy update for the 2011 reboot by Brian Tyler. Outside of the patchwork action cues that make up “Book ‘Em, Danno,” that’s all the time that Tyler gets to hawk his wares, as the rest of the collection is devoted to more generic song-oriented fare from the likes of Goo Goo Dolls, Switchfoot, and the Swell Season. Hawaii Five-O is at its best when it stays relatively local (thematically) and sticks to an island patina, offering up reggae and Hawaiian classics from legends like Jimmy Cliff, Ziggy Marley, Jake Shimabukuro, and John Cruz.

blue highlight denotes track pick