Renée Fleming / Harry Bicket

Handel Arias

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rich, smooth, creamy, and very, very warm, Renée Fleming's soprano pours all over the music of George Frideric Handel like melting chocolate. From the voluptuous Oh sleep, why dost thou leave me through the luxurious Endless pleasure to the opulent Calm thou my soul, Fleming's voice fulfills the heart and soul of Handel's music. Better yet, Fleming sounds like she really means it. Each aria has its own emotional character and each aria has its own musical personality. Fleming makes the listener believe the ecstasy of Semele, the longing of Rodelinda, and the sorrow of Agrippina. When coupled with the expert accompaniment of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment conducted by Harry Bickert, Fleming's performances will seduce anyone who loves passionately beautiful music. Decca's sound is as soft as a rose and as flattering as satin.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Semele, oratorio, HWV 58
1 03:18
2 03:17
Scipione (Publio Cornelio Scipione), opera, HWV 20
3 05:29 Amazon
Orlando, opera, HWV 31
4 03:29
Serse (Xerxes), opera, HWV 40
5 03:07
Samson, oratorio, HWV 57
6 01:36 Amazon
Rinaldo, opera, HWV 7
7 04:26
8 07:46
Samson, oratorio, HWV 57
9 05:40 Amazon
Giulio Cesare in Egitto, opera, HWV 17
10 04:55
11 06:11
Rodelinda, regina de' Langobardi, opera, HWV 19
12 05:10 Amazon
Lotario, opera, HWV 26
13 05:08
Agrippina, opera, HWV 6
14 05:16 Amazon
15 01:45
Alexander Balus, oratorio, HWV 65
16 03:40 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick