The World/Inferno Friendship Society

Hallowmas Live at Northsix

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

"Hallowmas" is the Catholic name for the three-day festival that culminates in All Saints' Day, or in some southern climes, the Day of the Dead. It's fitting, then, that this band of South-of-the-Border-by-way-of-Brooklyn, mariachi punk rockers should title their live Halloween record Hallowmas Live at Northsix. Of course, this zany gang plays ska on this record, too ("Zen and the Art of Breaking Everything in This Room"), as well as cabaret, polka-rock ("My Ancestral Homeland, New Jersey"), Clash-inspired punk rock ("Paul Robeson"), and slow-moving, carnival-esque dirges ("One For the Witches"). It's probably the best example of what the World/Inferno Friendship Society does in terms of truly capturing the bands unique, devil-may-care iconoclasm (though as the DCN label goes, they may never top the stunning Canyon live album), but to those uninitiated to this group's swirling manifesto, the live representation of the band might be too much. This record could easily be construed as insane, and newcomers should probably start with one of their studio albums.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:24 Amazon
2 3:28 Amazon
3 2:15 Amazon
4 2:54 Amazon
5 2:41 Amazon
6 2:41 Amazon
7 4:21 Amazon
8 2:46 Amazon
9 4:22 Amazon
10 3:00 Amazon
11 3:35 Amazon
12 3:56 Amazon
13 2:58 Amazon
14 3:27 Amazon
15 5:32 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick