Phil Woods

Groovin' to Marty Paich

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

At a 2004 West Coast jazz festival presented by producer Ken Poston, altoist Phil Woods was featured performing Marty Paich arrangements with the Los Angeles Jazz Orchestra. The re-created charts were originally recorded by Art Pepper in the 1950s, with the majority drawn from the famous Art Pepper + Eleven album. Woods has a different sound and a slightly different style than Pepper, but his playing is certainly complementary and a logical choice for this project. Pianist Christian Jacob directed the 12-piece orchestra and, although his verbal introductions are sometimes a bit awkward, the music works quite well. Woods, who takes a rare clarinet solo on "Anthropology" (which he jokes about), is in top form throughout. Highlights include "Groovin' High," "Walkin' Shoes," "Bernie's Tune," and "Shaw 'Nuff." Fans of West Coast jazz will enjoy this intriguing reinterpretation of Marty Paich's classic charts.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:16 Amazon
2 4:06 Amazon
3 5:57 Amazon
4 3:35 Amazon
5 4:18 Amazon
6 6:49 Amazon
7 4:12 Amazon
8 4:06 Amazon
9 4:04 Amazon
10 3:13 Amazon
11 4:03 Amazon
12 4:20 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick