Greatest Hits

Rodney Carrington

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Greatest Hits Review

by William Ruhlmann

Country comedian and comic singer Rodney Carrington hasn't had any hits, greatest or otherwise, in the conventionally accepted sense of the term. But Greatest Hits is a two-disc compilation drawn from four albums -- Hangin' with Rodney (its tracks licensed from Mercury Records), Morning Wood, Live: C'mon Laugh You Bastards, and Nut Sack. The first disc features Carrington's non-singing standup comedy, the second songs. Carrington has enjoyed commercial success with his albums by presenting redneck humor with a heavy complement of vulgar sexual commentary, poor taste (in "Growing Up Poor -- Toughskins Jeans," he makes fun of the Kennedy assassination), and bouts of intolerance toward Asian-Americans and, especially, homosexuals. Indeed, his obsession with gay people evidences an extreme homophobia that might benefit from therapy. But then, his comedy routines probably are that therapy, though they don't help him overcome his problems. He covers much the same ground in his songs, while introducing musical satires as he sets his lyrics to everything from Tex-Mex to Frankie Laine-style Western pop, and even (on one of two versions of "Letter to My Penis"), Frank Sinatra-style traditional pop swagger. Despite his vulgarity, Carrington reveals a wide streak of sentimentality, making it clear how dependent he is on his wife, and on the album-ending song "Things We Didn't Know," one of two new tracks, he drops the joking completely in favor of a sincere, and cloying, tribute to his family. But maybe that shouldn't be a surprise; he's spent a lot of the album demonstrating that, despite his potty mouth, he's really just a softie.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Rodney Carrington 02:54 Amazon
2 Rodney Carrington 01:49 Amazon
3 Rodney Carrington 01:54 Amazon
4 Rodney Carrington 01:41 Amazon
5 Rodney Carrington 03:44 Amazon
6 Rodney Carrington 02:47 Amazon
7 Rodney Carrington 02:29 Amazon
8 Rodney Carrington 01:18 Amazon
9 Rodney Carrington 01:13 Amazon
10 Rodney Carrington 01:00 Amazon
11 Rodney Carrington 03:28 Amazon
12 Rodney Carrington 04:59 Amazon
13 Rodney Carrington 01:57 Amazon
14 Rodney Carrington 02:39 Amazon
15 Rodney Carrington 01:11 Amazon
16 Rodney Carrington 00:56 Amazon
17 Rodney Carrington 00:59 Amazon
18 Rodney Carrington 02:06 Amazon
19 Rodney Carrington 01:23 Amazon
20 Rodney Carrington 02:44 Amazon
21 Rodney Carrington 02:03 Amazon
22 Rodney Carrington 02:02 Amazon
23 Rodney Carrington 02:04 Amazon
24 Rodney Carrington 04:25 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick