• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Gravity Review

by David Jeffries

Dropping "I've seen more trials than Cochrane" within the first minute of his 2012 album helps solidify Lecrae's reputation as just about the coolest dude in Christian hip-hop, but Gravity doesn't stop there. This crossover-minded effort follows two conceptual efforts (2010's Rehab and 2011's Rehab: The Overdose) and the rapper sounds rejuvenated by the idea, vamping like Jay-Z before launching into an infectious and alive title track, and ready to confront rappers who front ("You ain't shootin'/Ain't killin', Ain't doin'") on the grinding, Southern-flavored highlight "Fakin'." For fans of mainstream hip-hop, "Mayday" is a must have with underground don Big K.R.I.T. and American Idol season ten contestant Ashthon Jones joining Lecrae on this DJ Khalil-produced slice of buttery soul, but stick around for "Confessions" and hip-hop's love of bling is brought down by a difficult yet compelling number where the rapper lays out his Christian-based argument in the unexpected, brittle style of a beatnik poet or Saul Williams on Def Poetry Jam. Best of all, he makes all these genre experiments and jumps in style sound effortless and natural, all as the Lord's word is reinforced by stories of personal experience, both moving and devastating. No doubt, Gravity is a success, and while Rehab is the more rewarding album in the end, this one is more persuasive and immediate, making it an easy entry point into this gifted artist's discography.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Lecrae 02:55 Amazon
2 Lecrae 03:42
3 Lecrae 03:15
4 Lecrae 03:34
5 Lecrae 04:58
6 Lecrae 04:06 Amazon
7 Lecrae 03:09 Amazon
8 Lecrae 04:53
9 Lecrae 03:17 Amazon
10 Lecrae 03:45 Amazon
11 Lecrae 03:56
12 Lecrae 03:27
13 Lecrae 03:16 Amazon
14 Lecrae 03:36
15 Lecrae 04:37
blue highlight denotes track pick