Ben Liebrand

Grand 12-Inches

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

If you're a fan of dance music, from the inception of disco through early-'90s house, the Grand 12 Inches series will either be redundant or invaluable, but there's no denying that the selections are made with care and an understanding of the form. There's an average of ten tracks on each disc (this is a four-disc set), but that's understandable when extended and full-album versions are being used in favor of the single/radio edits that are so often used on compilations. There are too many highlights to mention, but some of the tracks that have held up particularly well include Donna Summer's "I Feel Love," Cerrone's "Supernature," Yarbrough & Peoples' "Don't Stop the Music," Patrice Rushen's "Forget Me Nots," D-Train's "You're the One for Me," Robin S' "Show Me Love," and New Order's "Blue Monday." And, as far as DJ starter kits are considered, this fares quite well.

blue highlight denotes track pick