G.P./Grievous Angel

Gram Parsons

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

G.P./Grievous Angel Review

by Mark Deming

In the year before his death in the fall of 1973, Gram Parsons recorded two superb solo albums, and Warner Brothers has conveniently reissued them in their entirety on a single compact disc. Since many of the same musicians played on both G.P. (released in January of 1973) and Grievous Angel (which appeared in stores almost exactly a year later), the two albums flow together quite well as a single set. And while no bonus tracks were added, the booklet features well-written essays on Parsons from John M. Delgatto and Marley Brant, the complete liner notes from both albums, and lyrics for all the songs on the disc (which weren't included in the original vinyl issues). While the material and performances on G.P. are a shade stronger than on Grievous Angel, both albums have more than their share of pearly moments, and this disc is a treat from start to finish; James Burton's guitar leads are chicken-pickin' at its smartest and most tasteful, Al Perkins' pedal steel is the definitive sound of country & western heartache, fiddler Byron Berline effortlessly reveals how he became one of Nashville's leading session musicians, and Parsons' duets with the young Emmylou Harris are nothing less than sublime. And would anyone who loves either country or rock really want to be without a CD that includes songs like "A Song for You," "The New Soft Shoe," "Big Mouth Blues," "$1,000 Wedding," or "In My Hour of Darkness"? While the definitive Gram Parsons collection has yet to be compiled, G.P./Grievous Angel gives you everything you really need from his solo career, and these 20 performances are among the most influential and satisfying music the genre of country-rock would ever produce.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Gram Parsons 02:38 Amazon
2 Gram Parsons 03:13 Amazon
3 Gram Parsons 04:57 Amazon
4 Gram Parsons 02:50 Amazon
Gram Parsons 04:55 Amazon
6 Gram Parsons 02:57 Amazon
7 Gram Parsons 03:52 Amazon
8 Gram Parsons 02:50 Amazon
9 Gram Parsons 03:55 Amazon
10 Gram Parsons 02:27 Amazon
11 Gram Parsons 03:52 Amazon
12 Gram Parsons 04:19 Amazon
13 Gram Parsons 03:50 Amazon
14 Gram Parsons 02:20 Amazon
15 Gram Parsons 03:27 Amazon
16 Gram Parsons 05:00 Amazon
17 Gram Parsons 06:27 Amazon
18 Gram Parsons 03:40 Amazon
19 Gram Parsons 03:29 Amazon
20 Gram Parsons 03:42 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick