Donna Summer

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Gold Review

by Andy Kellman

Gold isn't the first Donna Summer compilation (it isn't even the 24th), and you can bet it won't be the last. Released by the reputable Hip-O, it's a two-disc set containing an overly generous list of 34 songs, roughly half of which will be of no consequence to those only wanting the big dancefloor hits from the '70s and '80s -- "I Feel Love," "Love to Love You Baby," "Last Dance," "Hot Stuff," "On the Radio," "She Works Hard for the Money," and the like. All the obvious picks are included, along with just about every other chart entry through 2004. Though this does have the advantage of being an up-to-date anthology as of early 2005, the track listing is too extensive to appeal to those who want a quicker introduction (and there are several of those floating around). This set does score points for snaring "Spring Affair," an excellent Giorgio Moroder collaboration from 1976 that gets unfairly lost in the shuffle of the more familiar singles.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Donna Summer 03:47 Amazon
2 Donna Summer 04:20 Amazon
3 Donna Summer 05:50 Amazon
4 Donna Summer 05:21 Amazon
5 Donna Summer 04:43 Amazon
6 Donna Summer 04:07 Amazon
7 Donna Summer 03:35 Amazon
8 Donna Summer 04:39 Amazon
9 Donna Summer 04:13 Amazon
10 Donna Summer 03:37 Amazon
11 Donna Summer 03:27 Amazon
12 Donna Summer 03:47 Amazon
13 Donna Summer 04:31 Amazon
14 Donna Summer 03:41 Amazon
15 Donna Summer 04:15 Amazon
16 Donna Summer 04:09 Amazon
17 Donna Summer 04:52 Amazon
18 Donna Summer 04:05 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick