The Temptations


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

With an onslaught of greatest-hits compilations to their name, finding the ideal Temptations anthology can prove to be a daunting task for the die-hard fan as well as for those simply looking for the hits. Granted, there are several in print that are passable but by no means thorough surveys. And aside from the onslaught of midrange budget-line compilations currently in print, there are also the gigantic box sets and single discs with such titles as Emperors of Soul, Ultimate Collection, and 20th Century Masters to create additional confusion. Equally as baffling is the title of this compilation, simply called Gold. While it covers the bases and includes many of the group's finest moments ("My Girl," "Ain't Too Proud to Beg," "I Wish It Would Rain," "Papa Was a Rolling Stone"), it also overlooks some of their more obscure and mildly popular numbers of the '60s (including their duets with longtime friends and labelmates the Supremes) in deference to including easily forgettable songs from the '80s and '90s, which more often than not do not have original members in the lineup. With insightful and enjoyable liner notes from original Temp Otis Williams, it's a solid look at the history of the group but by no means a definitive one.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:54 Amazon
2 03:06 Amazon
3 02:41 Amazon
4 02:44 Amazon
5 02:58
6 02:51 Amazon
7 02:50 Amazon
8 02:39 Amazon
9 02:33 Amazon
10 02:23
11 02:29 Amazon
12 03:07 Amazon
13 02:57 Amazon
14 02:47 Amazon
15 03:33 SpotifyAmazon
16 03:30 Amazon
17 03:09
18 04:47
19 02:51 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick