Roy Orbison

Gold Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Gold Collection is a 15-track hits compilation that contains most of Orbison's biggest hits, including "Only the Lonely," "Pretty Woman," "It's Over," "Blue Bayou," "Crying" and "Candy Man." While it hits most of the high points, it leaves out a handful of necessary tracks, and isn't as strong as Rhino's For the Lonely or Monument's All-Time Greatest HIts. Essentially, the reason to pick up The Gold Collection is the fact that it is a gold-disc, and while the sound is good on the disc, it isn't a dramatic improvement over the other discs on the market.

blue highlight denotes track pick