Gold Collection: More Soul Ballads

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Gold Collection: More Soul Ballads Review

by Andy Kellman

It's one thing to recycle popular songs that have been compiled on dozens of other discs, but it's another thing entirely when inferior versions appear instead of the originals. Below the track listing on each volume of St. Clair's Gold Collection series, the consumer is informed -- in very small lettering -- that the songs are not the original versions. Instead, they are either live takes or "new stereo recordings." These comps should be hard to give away, let alone sell. Gold Collection: More Soul Ballads follows suit, with undesirable versions of Marvin Gaye's "Sexual Healing," Clarence Carter's "Drift Away," the Trammps' "You Make Me Feel Brand New," Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes' "I Miss You," and the Platters' "My Prayer."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Trammps 03:23 Amazon
2 The Delfonics 03:18 Amazon
3 Maxine Nightingale 03:17 Amazon
4 Marvin Gaye 07:59 Amazon
5 Harold Melvin 04:11 Amazon
6 Brook Benton 02:23 Amazon
7 Clarence Carter 03:29 Amazon
8 Percy Sledge 03:50 Amazon
9 Teddy Pendergrass 04:50 Amazon
10 The Miracles 02:42 Amazon
11 Wilson Pickett 02:39 Amazon
12 The Platters 02:42 Amazon
13 Percy Sledge 02:47 Amazon
14 The Trammps 04:46 Amazon
15 Maurice Williams 01:39 Amazon
16 Teddy Pendergrass 04:26 Amazon
17 Teddy Pendergrass 04:25 Amazon
18 The Delfonics 03:32 Amazon
19 Marvin Gaye 09:43 Amazon
20 Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes 03:11 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick