Global Hits 2003

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Global Hits 2003 Review

by Johnny Loftus

This collection from Universal gathers up seemingly every impossibly catchy, danceable moment from 2003 and compiles them on one continuously mixed CD. If you are any kind of a fan of European dance-pop, Global Hits 2003 is a must. It features the Daniel Bedingfield breakthrough "Gotta Get Thru This," Mad'House's strangely addictive reversion of the Material Girl's "Like a Prayer," and DJ Sammy's ubiquitous "Heaven," not to mention harder-edged dancefloor material like "It Just Won't Do" from Tim Deluxe and Sam Obernik. While collections like this always contain a few stinkers, Global Hits 2003 is just about flawless, and definitely will keep your party dancing. However, it's also sort of a bittersweet record. Despite the unstoppable grooves and sunny hooks contained herein, Global Hits 2003 is terminal. It is chained to the year it chronicles, and the more memorable its songs, the less welcome they'll be on the dancefloors of 2004 and beyond. Europop is a fickle friend, always asking, "What have you done for me lately?" Nevertheless, Global Hits 2003 will serve as the ultimate museum piece for all those fun nights at the club that you can't remember.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Daniel Bedingfield 04:36 SpotifyAmazon
2 Kreo 03:21 SpotifyAmazon
3 Mad'House 04:23 SpotifyAmazon
4 Puretone 03:52 SpotifyAmazon
5 Chiquinho do Acordeon / Do / Yann "Yanou" Peifer / DJ Sammy 03:51 SpotifyAmazon
6 Scooter 03:52 SpotifyAmazon
7 DJ Encore / Engelina 03:25 SpotifyAmazon
8 Tim Deluxe / Sam Obernik 03:13 SpotifyAmazon
Becky Baeling 03:57 SpotifyAmazon
10 Groove Coverage 02:51 SpotifyAmazon
11 Milky 03:28 SpotifyAmazon
12 Sophie Ellis-Bextor 03:48 SpotifyAmazon
13 Feel Good Productions 03:33 SpotifyAmazon
14 Sugababes 03:11 SpotifyAmazon
15 Dee Dee 03:53 SpotifyAmazon
The Cheeky Girls 03:05 SpotifyAmazon
Blush 03:08 SpotifyAmazon
18 Klea 03:17 SpotifyAmazon
19 DJ Ötzi 03:34 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick