Freddie Hubbard

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Gleam Review

by Scott Yanow

In contrast to his rather commercial Columbia albums of the period, this live double LP from Japanese Sony finds trumpeter Freddie Hubbard really digging into the material, even on such songs as "Put It in the Pocket," "Midnight at the Oasis" and a memorable version of the Stevie Wonder-associated "Too High." Hubbard and his working group of the time (which consisted of tenor-saxophonist Carl Randall, keyboardist George Cables, bassist Henry Franklin, drummer Carl Burnett and Buck Clark on congas) are in particularly creative form, especially on "Kuntu" and "Spirits of Trane."

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Freddie Hubbard 22:31 Amazon
2 Freddie Hubbard 07:30 Amazon
3 Freddie Hubbard 16:40 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick