Various Artists

Glasgow Underground, Vol. 5

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The fifth volume in the Glasgow Underground series spotlighting one of Scotland's brightest labels is, surprisingly, a bit of a mishmash. After a great opener from a Romanthony project ("Without You" by Phat Pussy Cat) and the delightfully poppy "Trippin' on the Love" by Groove Assassins and DJ Raw, the collection descends into a meandering fusion of downbeat house leavened with Brazilian rhythms and jazz-funk, but little to say on its own -- one excellent exception being the light and funky "Foolin" by Pascal and Mister Day. Many of the bright spots come on the second disc, a bonus mix by label manager Kevin McKay including tracks from Mateo & Matos, Milton Jackson, and Romanthony (the exquisite "Floorpiece").

blue highlight denotes track pick