Arditti Quartet / Arditti String Quartet

Gifts and Greetings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

With this CD on Winter & Winter, the Arditti String Quartet celebrates 40 years of cutting-edge performances. Long recognized as the leading string quartet in avant-garde circles, and admired for the brilliance and virtuosity of its performances of the most demanding works, the Arditti gave its first concert in March, 1974, and over four decades it has not stopped rehearsing, studying, performing, and recording the most challenging music of our time. This program consists of 14 short works by some of the most prominent contemporary composers -- Wolfgang Rihm, Hans Abrahamsen, Toshio Hosokawa, Brian Ferneyhough, Brice Pauset, Mark Andre, Marco Stroppa, Liza Lim, Harrison Birtwistle, Hilda Paredes, James Clarke, Georg Friedrich Haas, Uri Caine, and Johannes Maria Staud -- and the variety of their compositions makes this survey a fascinating exploration of innovative techniques and original concepts. Adventurous listeners will be impressed by the Arditti's fearlessness and directness in approaching this uncompromising music, and the liner notes by violinist Irvine Arditti provide background information that will be helpful to those just discovering the group.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 03:39
2 03:42
3 06:59
4 07:08
5 04:32
6 01:29
La Vita Immobile micro automi musicali
7 02:06
8 01:15
9 01:54
10 03:12
11 06:32
12 04:17
13 08:23
14 05:17
15 03:53
16 05:04
17 02:46
blue highlight denotes track pick