Jo Stafford

G.I. Jo Sings the Hits

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The hits "G.I. Jo" Stafford sings here consist of a "collection of her early work," as the unsigned liner notes acknowledge, although they do not say why. British budget reissue label, Prism Leisure, takes advantage of the 50-year copyright limit on recordings in Europe to assemble this compilation by transferring old 78's (with hiss sometimes intact). But that means a strict cut-off in 1946 has to be observed, and, of course, Stafford, who only launched her solo career in 1944, had just begun to score hits at that point. So, the compilers look backward, including (without credit) Stafford vocal features from her tenure with Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra, including "Yes, Indeed!," "Embraceable You," and "Manhattan Serenade," as well as her old group the Pied Pipers' "The Trolley Song." Some of Stafford's early solo hits are featured, among them the chart-topper "Candy," but others, such as "That's for Me" and "Symphony," that could have been used, are missing. Also, Stafford is heard singing such standards as "Blue Moon," "I'll Be Seeing You," and -- in a duet with uncredited co-author Johnny Mercer -- "Blues in the Night." There are some excellent Jo Stafford performances on this inexpensive, lengthy collection, but it's a sloppy, bare-bones album that will disappoint real fans.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:54 Spotify
2 3:16 Spotify
3 4:39 Spotify
4 3:32 Spotify
5 3:09 Spotify
6 2:54 Spotify
7 3:00 Spotify
8 3:11 Spotify
9 3:14 Spotify
10 3:11 Spotify
11 4:34 Spotify
12 3:03 Spotify
13 3:09 Spotify
14 3:02 Spotify
15 2:59 Spotify
16 3:01 Spotify
17 2:43 Spotify
18 3:06 Spotify
19 3:14 Spotify
20 3:15 Spotify
21 3:14 Spotify
22 5:11 Spotify
23 2:21 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick