Various Artists

Get Down Tonight: The Disco Explosion [Box Set]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The three-disc box set Get Down Tonight: The Disco Explosion was released just after PBS premiered the program of the same name, which featured new performances -- from Anita Ward, Thelma Houston, A Taste of Honey, KC & the Sunshine Band, and several others -- with archival footage from the disco era. Content-wise, the box doesn't do much to separate itself from the average disco compilation series, leaning heavily on mainstream hits. Each of these 58 songs reached the pop chart, remarkable for a movement with most of its roots planted in clubs that were only a little like Studio 54, populated by marginalized blacks, Latinos, and gays -- a subculture avoided or barely acknowledged by many Saturday Night Fever fans. (The difference is also in the stark contrast between excluded people who were inclusive and included people who were exclusive.) Most of the songs here have appeared on scores of other disco compilations, but those discs are prone to flimsy packaging and poor sound. Distributed by Sony, this box has excellent sound, insightful liner notes, and plenty of bold photographs, all of which make it a helpful disco starter kit. That said, it does rely mostly on radio edits of the songs, always an unfortunate move when dealing with a style of music that thrived on extended, elaborate grooves (granted, a high quantity of tracks on a disc is always appealing to the average consumer's eyes). The discs are broken down by geography, bizarrely enough, moving from the West Coast to the Midwest and East Coast to everywhere else. This causes confusion. Freez was a U.K. group, so they appear on the "South and Across the Atlantic" disc, despite relying heavily on production from Americans Arthur Baker and John Robie. If you apply the same rationale, Midwesterners Diana Ross and the Jackson 5 should appear on the Midwest/East Coast disc, but they're on the West Coast disc due to Motown's L.A. base. Despite a few blunders (two too many Village People songs and a few damp squibs that should remain on those low-budget comps) and the problematic setup, there are plenty of inclusions that won't lose steam any time soon, no matter how many times they're played -- Heatwave's "Boogie Nights," Manu Dibango's "Soul Makossa," Odyssey's "Native New Yorker," A Taste of Honey's "Boogie Oogie Oogie," Chic's "Le Freak," and Indeep's "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life" are prime examples. In other words, don't let all the nitpicking get in the way of a good time.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Donna Summer 03:47 Amazon
2 The Gap Band 04:04 Amazon
3 The Village People 03:45 Amazon
4 Cheryl Lynn 03:43 Amazon
5 Sylvester 06:55 Amazon
6 Barry White 03:34 Amazon
7 Bonnie Pointer 03:32 Amazon
8 The Jackson 5 02:40 Amazon
9 Commodores 05:38 Amazon
10 The Village People 03:45 Amazon
11 The Weather Girls 03:30 Amazon
12 Pattie Brooks 07:53 Amazon
13 Diana Ross 04:04 Amazon
14 Rick James 03:25 Amazon
15 A Taste of Honey 03:36 Amazon
16 Hues Corporation 03:06 Amazon
17 The Love Unlimited Orchestra 03:33 Amazon
18 Thelma Houston 03:37 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Evelyn "Champagne" King 02:57 Amazon
2 Wild Cherry 03:10 Amazon
3 Amii Stewart 03:49 Amazon
Andrea True 02:59 Amazon
5 Vicki Sue Robinson 03:22 Amazon
6 Tavares 03:13 Amazon
7 The Spinners 04:03 Amazon
8 Walter Murphy 03:02 Amazon
9 Blondie 03:30 Amazon
10 Lipps, Inc. 03:55 Amazon
11 Kool & the Gang 03:27 Amazon
12 Earth, Wind & Fire 03:35 Amazon
13 Carol Douglas 03:29 Amazon
14 Chic 04:16 Amazon
15 The Four Seasons 03:32 Amazon
16 Van McCoy & the Soul City Symphony 03:43 Amazon
17 Shirley & Company 03:53 Amazon
18 Indeep 04:42 Amazon
19 Odyssey 05:28 Amazon
20 Gloria Gaynor 07:59 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 3

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 KC & the Sunshine Band 03:11 Amazon
2 Average White Band 03:02 Amazon
3 The Sylvers 03:26 Amazon
4 ABBA 03:49 Amazon
5 Silver Convention 03:47 Amazon
6 Anita Ward 03:33 Amazon
7 Giorgio Moroder 04:19 Amazon
8 Midnight Star 04:24 Amazon
9 Manu Dibango 04:27 Amazon
10 Alicia Bridges 02:58 Amazon
11 Yvonne Elliman 02:54 Amazon
12 Heatwave 03:37 Amazon
Candi Staton 04:03 Amazon
14 Andy Gibb 03:43 Amazon
15 Johnnie Taylor 04:28 Amazon
16 KC & the Sunshine Band 03:04 Amazon
17 Patrick Hernandez 03:24 Amazon
18 Freeez 03:49 Amazon
19 Bananarama 03:36 Amazon
20 France Joli 04:13 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick