KC & the Sunshine Band

Get Down Tonight: Greatest Hits Live

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Compiling recordings from KC & the Sunshine Band's 1993 and 1994 tours, Get Down Tonight: Greatest Hits Live makes for decent souvenir of the constantly touring band's show. KC's voice seems a little thinner than in its heyday, but the enthusiasm and his good-humored attitude make up for it. There are quite a few covers that would have worked better in a crowded and sunny amphitheater, but zealous versions of all the hits that helped sell 75 million records are included. The early-'90s version of the Sunshine Band features a punchy horn section and an especially energetic set of background singers that make it seem like the '70s all over again (KC and percussionist Fermin Goytisolo are the only original members). Skip the misguided James Brown medley, enjoy the fine performance of Barbara Mason's "Yes I'm Ready," and be glad that KC can still deliver his hook-filled numbers with enthusiasm and plenty of charisma.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 00:20 Amazon
2 03:53 Amazon
3 03:08 Amazon
4 03:16 Amazon
5 04:57 Amazon
6 06:02 Amazon
7 03:34 Amazon
8 03:59 Amazon
9 04:24 Amazon
10 01:57 Amazon
11 02:44 Amazon
12 03:28 Amazon
13 10:49 Amazon
14 05:36 Amazon
15 04:45 Amazon
16 03:07 Amazon
17 07:45 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick