BBC National Orchestra of Wales / Kriss Russman

George Butterworth: Orchestral Fantasia; Suite for String Quartette; The Banks of Green Willow; Etc.

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The 2016 release of this album commemorated George Butterworth's death in the Battle of the Somme one hundred years earlier. He was one of the million young men to die there, and heavy indeed is the irony of his setting of A.E. Housman's The lads in their hundreds. That song cycle, as well as the Suite for String Quartette, are orchestrated here by the present conductor, Kriss Russman, the idea apparently being to enlarge the rather slender corpus of orchestral music by Butterworth. But it's hard to argue that either work is added to by being orchestrated. The Six Songs from 'A Shropshire Lad' tend to emphasize a certain over-literal quality in Butterworth's settings. There is also a completion by Russman of an Orchestral Fantasia left unfinished by Butterworth and seemingly pointing in new directions. The chief attraction here is the group of short orchestral pieces -- an idyll, The Banks of Green Willow; the Two English Idylls; and the rhapsody, A Shropshire Lad -- entrancing mini tone poems that do indeed deserve a more secure place in the orchestral repertory. Russman and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales perform this music with uncommon commitment and care; the short orchestral pieces are both smooth and subtle. BIS engineers apparently all British, achieve beautiful results at Hoddinott Hall in Cardiff.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 06:04
Six Songs from 'A Shropshire Lad'
2 02:47
3 01:23
4 02:11
5 01:18
6 02:07
7 03:44
8 10:06
Two English Idylls
9 04:26
10 04:33
Suite for String Quartette
11 03:42
12 00:56
13 04:29
14 04:41
15 04:47
Love Blows as the Wind Blows
16 03:07
17 01:58
18 03:56
19 09:08
blue highlight denotes track pick