Busta Rhymes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Genesis Review

by Bradley Torreano

Busta Rhymes takes his charismatic style of rapping and applies it to a new production style on Genesis, his fourth solo album. This time around the beats seem darker and more synth-oriented, giving it an edge reminiscent of the bass-heavy G-funk sound. "As I Come Back" is a good example, featuring a sustained keyboard note droning on throughout the chorus with Busta rapping in his raspy style. On the other hand, Rhymes can still make a good dance song, like the hypnotic "What It Is," a fractured funk anthem that features robotic female vocals from Kelis and a slow beat consisting of clicks and snaps. Other guest appearances include P. Diddy's turn on the dramatic "Pass the Courvoisier," Mary J. Blidge on "There's Only One," and the occasional appearances by the Flipmode Squad, as well as production work from Pete Rock and Dr. Dre, among others. The only questionable track is a remake of Public Enemy's classic "Shut 'Em Down" that may leave some fans cold due to its different feel and message. But outside of the one track, this is another solid release from a consistent hip hop artist who can still make relevant, interesting albums long after his days with the Leaders of the New School.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Busta Rhymes feat: Clive Davis 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
2 Busta Rhymes 04:13 SpotifyAmazon
3 Busta Rhymes 03:19 SpotifyAmazon
4 Busta Rhymes 02:55 SpotifyAmazon
5 Busta Rhymes 03:56 SpotifyAmazon
6 Busta Rhymes 03:18
7 Busta Rhymes 03:51 SpotifyAmazon
8 Busta Rhymes 03:35 SpotifyAmazon
9 Busta Rhymes feat: Puff Daddy 04:36
10 Busta Rhymes 03:51 SpotifyAmazon
11 Busta Rhymes 03:19
12 Busta Rhymes 04:34 SpotifyAmazon
13 Busta Rhymes 04:03
14 Busta Rhymes 04:42
15 Busta Rhymes 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
16 Busta Rhymes 03:38
17 Busta Rhymes 04:23
18 Busta Rhymes 03:27 SpotifyAmazon
19 Busta Rhymes 05:59
20 Busta Rhymes 03:17 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick