Various Artists

Future Funk Six

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The popular and hip Parisian radio station Radio Nova 101.5 presents the Future Funk series of compilations, which feature what the station views as some of contemporary funk music's best moments. As you might presume, given the late-'90s era this collection appeared in, most of the songs are by producers rather than bands, so the music is usually some style of electronica rather than classic funk such as the JB's or Funkadelic. The collection features a little bit of everything, from house and drum'n'bass to more Afro- and jazz-informed styles. Some of the songs featured on the sixth volume include Bran Van 3000's "Sinking in L.A."; Herbert's "Never Give Up"; Peshay's remix of Courtney Pine's "Tryin Times"; Deejay Punk-Roc's "All You Ladies"; and François K.'s remix of Cesaria Evora's "Sangue de Beirona."

blue highlight denotes track pick