Jim "Shaft" Ryan

Funky House: The Sound of Miss Moneypenny's

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Jim "Shaft" Ryan mixes the Funky House: The Sound of Miss Moneypenny's collection in much the same style that he mixes all the other volumes in the series -- he throws down lots of energetic disco-house tracks. He's not afraid to throw down popular tracks either. In fact, the majority of Ryan's set is produced by a well-known house producer. For instance, some of the featured producers include Sandy Rivera of Kings of Tomorrow, Funkstar De Luxe, Eddie Amador, Paul Johnson, Robbie Rivera, and Joey Negro. Ryan saves the big tracks for big moments, following up Funkstar De Luxe's remix of Bob Marley's "Rainbow Country" with Amador's "New York Preacher Mix" of "Rise" and saving a remixes of Paul Johnson's "Get Get Down" and Negro's "Must Be the Music" for the climactic finale of each respective set. Though all of these Miss Moneypenny's collections are fairly similar, this particular volume is one of the more satisfying, particularly because of the aforementioned highlights.

blue highlight denotes track pick