Various Artists

Funky Collector No. 9

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

If you can excuse the ridiculous graphic design, the extensive Funky Collector series -- released by Active Music, under the French wing of Universal -- does an excellent job of tying together well over a hundred overlooked and often unfairly neglected funk and soul singles from the '70s and '80s. The majority of the tracks appear in club-oriented extended lengths, making the discs ideal for DJs and retired clubbers. It's an awesome series, but good luck tracking it down. All of the tracks on volume nine were released between 1978 and 1983; highlights include Earth, Wind & Fire's "Fall in Love With Me," George Duke's "Reach Out," Lonnie Liston Smith's "Space Princess," Herbie Hancock's "The Bomb," and Odyssey's "Going Back to My Roots."

blue highlight denotes track pick