Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology

Ohio Players

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology Review

by Andrew Hamilton

One hour, 54 minutes, and 12 seconds of innovative funk on two discs is nothing to sneeze at, particularly when the tracks are prime Ohio Players cuts. Mercury adroitly chronicles their chart-blazing career with full-length, unedited versions of winners and album treats. From the bluesy, strutting "Jive Turkey" to "More Than Love," the group displays its superb musicianship and ingenuity on 28 slabs of funk and soul. The guys proved they can slow jam with anyone on "Together" and the super-lush "Honey." The Ohio Players were affectionately known as Sugarfoot, Billy, Pee Wee, Merv, Diamond, Rock, and Satch, all of whom contributed collectively in the writing and production of all the songs. Everyone is familiar with the hits, and most of their fans already have them; it's the unsung pearl like "Good Luck Charm" that makes Funk on Fire a must -- along with the convenience of having all these smokin' grooves in one sweet package.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Ohio Players 07:52 SpotifyAmazon
2 Ohio Players 07:08 SpotifyAmazon
3 Ohio Players 07:17 SpotifyAmazon
4 Ohio Players 04:34 SpotifyAmazon
5 Ohio Players 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
6 Ohio Players 06:49 SpotifyAmazon
7 Ohio Players 04:12 SpotifyAmazon
8 Ohio Players 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
9 Ohio Players 03:52
10 Ohio Players 06:15 SpotifyAmazon
11 Ohio Players 04:47 SpotifyAmazon
12 Ohio Players 05:18 SpotifyAmazon
13 Ohio Players 05:43 SpotifyAmazon
14 Ohio Players 08:25 SpotifyAmazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Ohio Players 04:31 SpotifyAmazon
2 Ohio Players 03:47 SpotifyAmazon
3 Ohio Players 04:54 SpotifyAmazon
4 Ohio Players 04:12 SpotifyAmazon
5 Ohio Players 07:28 SpotifyAmazon
6 Ohio Players 03:08 SpotifyAmazon
7 Ohio Players 07:13 SpotifyAmazon
8 Ohio Players 07:18
9 Ohio Players 09:35 SpotifyAmazon
10 Ohio Players 04:53 SpotifyAmazon
11 Ohio Players 04:44 SpotifyAmazon
12 Ohio Players 03:51 SpotifyAmazon
13 Ohio Players 05:06 SpotifyAmazon
14 Ohio Players 05:44 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick