Funk Explosion

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Funk Explosion Review

by Andy Kellman

Similar in set-up and scope to Pure Funk, just as Disco Love Collection -- released at the same time by the same label -- appeared to be patterned after Pure Disco, Funk Explosion includes 14 tracks, the majority of which have appeared on several other compilations. As with Disco Love Collection, this is a half-hearted introduction to funk, and it might be useful for those who need at least a handful of these songs and don't mind potential (nearly unavoidable, actually) overlap with other various-artist discs. Featured: Kool & the Gang's "Jungle Boogie," the Gap Band's "You Dropped a Bomb on Me," Rufus' "Tell Me Something Good," and the O'Jays' "For the Love of Money."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Kool & the Gang 03:04 Amazon
2 Parliament 05:46 Amazon
3 James Brown 05:07 Amazon
4 The Gap Band 05:07 Amazon
5 Commodores 03:30 Amazon
6 Rick James 03:26 Amazon
7 The O'Jays 03:42 Amazon
8 Wild Cherry 04:58 Amazon
9 Chaka Khan / Rufus 03:30 Amazon
10 Rose Royce 05:06 Amazon
11 05:09 Amazon
B.T. Express 03:12 Amazon
13 Ohio Players 04:46 Amazon
14 Dazz Band 04:03 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick